Heritage of SHannara


4/5 star rating

Heritage of Shannara by Terry Brooks

This is a series of four books and yes I am cheating a little by doing all four of them in one post. I might get around to doing separate reviews at some point but after this post I’ll probably focus on a different author for a while. This series consists of The Scions of Shannara, The Druid of Shannara, The Elf Queen of Shannara and The Talisman of Shannara. It is set quite some time after The Sword of Shannara and focus’s on four descendants of Shea Ohmsford.


The Heritage of Shannara is comprised of four books

The Scions of Shannara

  3.5/5 star rating

The Scions of Shannara been the first book of the series gathers the chosen Ohmsford together and focuses primarily on Par and Coll Ohmsford whose task it is to retrieve the Sword of Shannara.


Druid of Shannara

  3.5/5 star rating

The Druid of Shannara focus’s of Walker Boh, the most reluctant of the group and the only one with the ability to be a druid who is on the hunt for the Black Elfstone.


Elf Queen of SHannara

  4/5 star rating

The Elf Queen of Shannara follows Wren Ohmsfords journey to beyond the shores of Westland in search of the lost Elven race.


The Talismans of Shannara

  3.5/5 star rating

The Talisman of Shannara brings it all together with the final conflict between the Ohsmfords and the current evil trying to take over, the Shadowen monsters.



Following three stories over four books is quite a task and perhaps because of that there are some really good parts and then there are areas that are not so good. Walker Boh’s constant whinging quite honestly got on my nerves after a while, though I really like some of the parts he traveled to and experienced. Out of all the characters I liked Wren Ohsmford the most and out of all of them, I liked her journey the most. Is it really bad of me that Par and Coll didn’t really make any sort of impact as characters? Neither of them were really memorable. Terry Brooks gift for descriptions and detail really is allowed loose in these four books, Without the constant dread and foreboding that turned me off The Wishsong of Shannara and with more relatable characters, these books balances action and adventure with the dark elements much better.

Background Info

The Scions of Shannara was published in 1990, followed by The Druid of Shannara in 1991, The Elf Queen of Shannara in 1992 and The Talismans of Shannara in 1993. I have found out that Terry Brooks wrote six books before he felt secure enough to stop practicing law and focus on been an Author. This would mean that he finished practicing law in the early 90s while writing this series.


Who should read this book?

There are some parts in this series I really liked and enjoyed and other parts I would have rather just skipped over, but I guess you get that when you are dealing with three stories combined over four books. There is plenty of action, adventure and magic for any Fantasy fan and everything a Terry Brooks fan loves about Terry Brooks writing. In all these books are some of Terry Brooks better works.

I give them a combined score of 4 out of five stars.


Reading Order

  1. The Sword of Shannara
  2. The Elfstones of Shannara
  3. The Wishsong of Shannara
  4. Heritage of Shannara………………..Purchase through Amazon
    1. The Scions of Shannara……. Purchase through Amazon
    2. The Druid of Shannara……..Purchase through Amazon
    3. The Elf Queen of Shannara……Purchase through Amazon
    4. The Talisman of Shannara…….  Purchase through Amazon